Skip navigation

The approval process explained

Have you seen our resources on the new Quality Assurance model?

The approval process is designed to assess institutions and new programmes to ensure they are properly organised to deliver education, and train learners to be safe, effective and fit to practice

The process focuses on whether education standards are met at the threshold level required, so those who complete programmes meet relevant proficiency standards.

We run the process in two stages.

Focus on institution level standards

Providers need to demonstrate how they meet institution level standards through stage 1 when they are new to the HCPC, or if we identify a specific reason for a review against institution-level standards.

We are normally confident that existing providers are properly organised to deliver HCPC-approved education and training from previous reviews. In these cases, we undertake a detailed internal review of the proposal to ensure it aligns with the institution.

Focus on programme level standards

Through stage 2 assessment, providers need to demonstrate how programme-level standards are met. We will not revisit areas from the institution level standards, unless there is a specific reason to do so.

We ask for documentary submissions through each stage, and then undertake quality assurance activity needed to address and explore themes from our review of documentation. This means that we do not visit as standard, but rather design quality assurance activity based on our findings.

The process is designed to be carried out flexibly with provider needs, and should take no longer than 6 months in total. We will define specific interactions with you as the process progresses.

At key points in the process, we report our findings as follows:

  • Providing a full and detailed view of the process – reporting does not simply focus on issues or exceptions
  • Providing reasoning as to why standards are met

The outcomes of the process are to either approve or not approve the institution or programmes.

Page updated on: 06/09/2021