Skip navigation

Visiting European professionals

Following the UK's exit from the EU, the 'visiting European professionals' application route is no longer available. The register of visiting European professionals will remain but will no longer be updated or added to.

What is the visiting European professionals register?

The visiting European professionals on this register have signed a declaration to provide temporary and occasional services in the UK. This allows them to practise on a temporary and occasional basis only. They have a temporary registration number, which is prefixed with TEMP.

If a member of the visiting European professionals register wishes to practise in the UK on an established basis, they need to apply for registration with us.


What can the professionals do?

If you engage a member of the visiting European professionals register to provide temporary or occasional services, you need to know what they can and cannot do.



The visiting European professionals provision is governed by the European Union Regulations 2015 (recognition of professional qualifications), which gives effect in the UK to the EU Professional Qualifications Directive (2005/36/EC). 


Which countries does it apply to?

The countries covered by the visiting European professionals provision are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland


Get updates relevant for employers of HCPC registrants delivered straight to your inbox

Subscribe to receive HCPC insights for employers by entering your email address below.

More information for employers or managers of health and care professionals is available on our Employer hub
Page updated on: 09/10/2019